My Thoughts on The Last Surgeon


Recently, I was fortunate to win a contest… the juicy prize that lured me in??? An advance reader’s edition of The Last Surgeon, autographed by author Michael Palmer.  This glorious treasure is not due out on shelves until February 16, 2010. 

If you are an avid reader, as I am, then you can imagine my excitement of receiving this book.  I know many have already read it, but being just an everyday, average gal, I feel I have been let in on a huge secret. 

 

So the day came when my book arrived in the mail, very quickly I might add.  I couldn’t wait to get home from work to begin my journey into Michael Palmer’s mind and his latest creation.  That night I slipped into bed, anxious and thrilled as I opened my book and read the first line, “I know you can’t believe this is happening, Ms. Coates, but I assure you it is.  I have been paid, and paid very well, to kill you.”

 

From there I was taken into a new world.  I first witnessed a murder by an assassin who is the master of the non-kill.  He is paid the big bucks to make his kills out to be accidents or suicides so as not to bring unwanted attention to what is really going on.  He is clever and wily enough to make some of his targets actually commit the acts themselves. Who is he working for??? What are they trying to cover up??

 

When a doctor who has been searching for his missing friend, the friend that saved his life in the war and a psychiatric nurse, who is positive her sister did not commit suicide meet, they begin uncovering clues, that in some strange way connect the two incidences.  The harder the two push to uncover the truth, the more trouble seems to arise, placing them both at death’s door.  Will the truth be revealed??? Can both of them stay alive when trusting anyone becomes so dangerous??

 

This book was genius!!! I was enthralled at chapter one and it just got better from there. I love how Michael Palmer captured the true psychopathic and sociopathic nature of his assassin.  The heart and courage of the doctor and nurse shine through every step of the way as they face the most frightening circumstances to find the truth about their loved ones.  Most of all, I am amazed at how Michael Palmer manages to get thrill, mystery, romance, fear, rage, conspiracy and happiness all in one novel and really make you wonder, could this be true???  You will have to read the book when it is released, the ending is highly explosive!!

 

To find out more about Michael Palmer and his other books (including New York Times Best Sellers) visit his recently updated website: www.michaelpalmerbooks.com 

and follow @Michael_Palmer on Twitter.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

