Dying Light ~ A Review


D. Scott Meek is new to the world of published authors. A daunting feat considering all the competition out there.

Scott’s book was first introduced to me as a “vampyre” novel. I thought, okay I like vampy books, so I decided to give it a read.

The book took me to the world of ‘New Baltimore’ where the ravishes of World War III have decimated the land. A new blood virus was unleashed turning some humans into blood thirsty beings. A new war ensuing of man against vampyre.

This sounds a bit cliche’ I know, but I have to tell you, there is more in this novel than another easy read, entertaining human against beast novel. It does not encompass the typical fights and battles we are used to reading. There are no sparkling, romantic vampires here.

Scott’s book touches, quite deeply on humanity, predjudices and politics. There were even moments when I wasn’t reminded of vampyres at all, but of humanity as a whole and how we treat each other.

I had to re-start this book a couple of times because my mind was expecting one thing, while the words were telling me something else. While I was waiting for the typical girl meets vamp storyline I was reading the possible state of the world.

The characters in the book are all well written, in that you become them as you read along. Seeing each person’s point of view, thoughts, losses, plans for deciet and ability to just be human. I was taken through a whirlwind of emotions, from anger, to fear, to sadness as the words went by. I even cried at one point, for our humanity.

I am not going to give any of the plot away here, as I think you should read this for yourself. I can say you will be missing out on a book that really makes you think and challenges you to read and consider your own being if you pass this up.

So if you are ready to take on a challenge, and use your brain, read “Dying Light” from D. Scott Meek available at Amazon and BarnesandNoble.com

You can also follow Scott on Twitter as @dsmeek36

2 Comments

  1. I tried to make it as real and as plausible as possible. Maybe it’s not fantastic enough, the metaphors not wild enough, to keep it from making us see how ugly the world can be sometimes. Maybe a lot of my cynicism comes out in this book, but so does my romantic side. “Bittersweet” is my taste. It’s the flavor that stays with us long after we are done devouring the meal.

Leave a Reply

